Cycle of Grief

There are some things you need to know about grief. These truths have been my mainstay since my husband Ron, died seven years ago and went to be with Jesus. No matter our grief, there are several stages, which may occur in any order and include denial, isolation, anger, bargaining, depression (and thankfully!) acceptance.

1. God comforts us.
Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (Isaiah 41:10, NIV)

2. God comforts us so that we, in turn, can comfort others. (I wrote The Pregnant Pause of Grief which has helped many. You might not write a book but you can speak to a hurting neighbor or relative.)

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. (2 Corinthians 1:3-4, NIV)

3. And we have hope because we will see our loved ones again.

Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope. For we believe that Jesus died and rose again and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him. (1 Thessalonians 4:13-14)

Remember that death is only the beginning of forever.

Prayer-Lord, thank you for the better day to come, when you will wipe away every tear and there will be no more death, sorrow, crying or pain. In Christ; amen (See Revelation 21:4)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *